In her own words: Lisa Stewart

InHerOwnWords

I’ve worked at Fort Osage for 15 years. I’m married and have two daughters 21 and 25. One year ago in December I was diagnosed with IDC (a form of #breastcancer).

I was lucky to not have to receive Chemo or Radiation. Mine was caught early with the 3D #mammogram. My tumor was 8mm in size. That’s small in size. I feel that everyone should have the 3D mammo. I had to pay $45 extra out of my pocket to get the 3D but it was well worth it. It saved my life. I’ve had surgery and reconstruction and am on my way to recovery.

Of course I wanted to get more involved with fundraising to help with more research to hopefully have cures for breast cancer one day. I started with participating in the Komen (Race for the Cure) Walk in August. Even though it rained that day, it was a great turnout and I had about 35 people on my team. Nobody complained about the rain.

Lisa Stewart - Race

Fort Osage Pink Week 2Fort Osage Pink Week

Lisa Stewart - Race2

I also, wanted to fund raise through my place of employment. All the employees are great to participate in our fundraisers. That’s when we had a jeans day and our student council fund raised in October during Breast Cancer Awareness Month. We raised $2,900 from these fundraisers.

We are very grateful to have had your (Komen KC’s) help with this. Every little bit of money counts.

– Lisa Stewart

Do you have a story about dealing with breast cancer as a patient, a survivor, a co-survivor or a supporter of the efforts to save lives and end breast cancer forever? Please email our communications manager Michael A. Levine at mlevine@komenkansascity.org. You might be the feature of a future “In her/their own words”.

Leave a Reply

