What do you need? #GivingTuesday

GT_logo_trans1

As I talk to women in our service area – I hear many different reasons why they don’t get screened on an annual basis. But, when it comes right down to it – time & money are the ones I hear most often.

Take Kimberley Mann for example – her story was featured in a recent Take Action Thursday post on our blog during National Breast Cancer Awareness Month:

Olivia, age 3, and Kimberly Mann, age 41

Olivia, age 3, and Kimberly Mann, age 41

“Recently I had my first mammogram at the age of 41½. Yes, I delayed getting my mammogram for an entire year and a half despite my increased risk for breast cancer. My maternal grandmother is an 18-year breast cancer survivor. One would think that would make me very motivated to have my annual screenings. I have many reasons for not going to get my mammogram; honestly looking back at it, they are all really lame: I’m a healthy person, I exercise every single day, I work full-time, I’m a part-time Master’s student, I have three children in multiple activities, I am busy, busy, busy taking care of everyone else!  There just wasn’t time to go and get a mammogram.”

Read the rest of Kimberley’s story here!

For Kimberley, time was all she needed to get the mammogram that she knew she should have.

But, phone calls come into our office on a daily basis from those who are uninsured or underinsured – where money is the need; money for a mammogram because there is a family history or money for a screening because she felt a lump.

That’s where Komen Kansas City comes in!

This year we have funded more than 23,000 different breast health services in our community – including 1,855 clinical breast exams and 1,950 mammograms in the Greater Kansas City area.

We can’t do it alone. We NEED you!

Today is #GivingTuesday and like millions of people around the world you will be asked to make a charitable contribution in support of your favorite charities. Your gift is needed more than ever to help women in your community. Your gift to Susan G. Komen Greater Kansas City will ensure women will get the services they NEED to detect and treat breast cancer!

The cost of a clinical breast exam and mammogram in Kansas City is $218. Join us in our End of Year Challenge and Click here to make a donation to fulfill a need!

If you need to get screened and can’t afford to do so – please call our office
and we will help connect you to someone who may be able to help.

If time is what you need – set up a reminder to schedule you annual screening by Clicking here!

Carli Good
Executive Director

P.S. We need you! Please consider joining our board and staff in the new Club 218 by making a gift of $218 today or making a monthly pledge of $18.17 for one year. $218 is the cost of a mammogram/clinical breast exam in our service area. This financial commitment will help Komen Kansas City fund life-saving screenings in our local community.

To make a gift of any amount or join Club 218 now Click here!

Leave a Reply

